Art I Challenge – identifying classical orders

Greek_TempleWe are studying Ancient Greek art right now in Art I, and I have challenged my students to look for examples of the architectural orders in our small town. Extra Credit opp!!! 

Just leave your answer in the comments! 🙂

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Published byartandsoul

I am an art teacher, mother of two awesome boys, and follower of the Way - Jesus Christ. I like to read, draw, create, write, flower garden, drink coffee, and be inspired by beautiful things. I like cats, mountains, autumn, chocolate, and many more things. I love the truth, and honor, and imagination. I like silver. Roses.

7 Comments

  • Andrew Crumbaugh

    February 6, 2015 at 3:53 am Reply

    The shelbyville court house is influenced by Greek art

  • Soraya Chavez

    February 6, 2015 at 6:07 am Reply

    Argie Cooper Public Library

  • artandsoul

    February 6, 2015 at 10:27 pm Reply

    Great answers, Drew and Soraya! I’ll publish them after Monday :).

  • alexcis simmons

    February 11, 2015 at 5:41 pm Reply

    doric
    behind the post office on the Presbyterian chruch

  • Lori Griffin

    February 11, 2015 at 5:45 pm Reply

    the courthouse has Doric columns.

  • Helena Morales

    February 11, 2015 at 5:58 pm Reply

    The US Bank of America on the square has ionic style columns.

  • artandsoul

    February 13, 2015 at 3:45 pm Reply

    These are all great examples!! Keep looking out for more examples of classical architecture — amazing that it’s all around us.

Post a Comment